"Interesting stuff of the Technology, Products and Web 2.0..."

Saturday, July 07, 2007

7 Wonders of the World are redefined

Results of new 7 wonders of the world has been announced yesterday. More than 100 million people participated in choosing the new seven wonders of the world. Based on their vote, the result were announced during the Official Declaration ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal on Saturday, July 7, 2007 - 07.07.07, which was a unique date in history and will never come again. All digits are 7.

Among highlights of the evening were performances by Jennifer Lopez and Jose Carreras, as well as Dulce Pontes, Chaka Khan, Alessandro Safina and Joaquín Cortés. Special guests were Neil Armstrong, Bertrand Piccard, Frederico Mayor and Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal's homegrown football star.

The New7Wonders of the World choosen by the people are:

1. India’s Taj Mahal
2. The Great Wall of China

3. Jordan’s Petra

4. Brazil’s statue of Christ Redeemer

5. Peru’s Machu Picchu

6. Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid and

7. The Colosseum in Rome

These new 7 wonders have now replaced the original ancient 7 wonders of the world.

Other landmarks which were not able to impress people are:
  • The Acropolis, Greece
  • Alhambra, Spain
  • Angkor, Cambodia
  • Statues of Easter Island, Chile
  • Eiffel Tower, France
  • Hagia Sophia, Turkey
  • Kiyomizu Temple, Japan
  • Kremlin/St. Basil, Russia
  • Neuschwanstein Castle, Germany
  • Pyramids of Giza, Egypt
  • Statue of Liberty, USA
  • Stonehenge, United Kingdom
  • Sydney Opera House, Australia and
  • Timbuktu, Mali
Ancient 7 wonders of the world

The commonly known Seven Ancient Wonders of the World were all man-made monuments, selected by Philon of Byzantium in 200 B.C. Today, only the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt remain.

His selection of wonders was essentially a travel guide for fellow Athenians, and the stunning sites were all located around the Mediterranean basin, the then-known world.

The monuments he chose, to be remembered in perpetuity, were:

  • The Lighthouse of Alexandria
  • The Temple of Artemis
  • The Statue of Zeus
  • The Colossus of Rhodes
  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus
  • The Pyramids of Egypt
All had been built between 2,500 B.C. and 200 B.C.


Dj said...

Try http://blogulate.com/content/is-the-new7wonders-a-scam/ this

Derek said...

"07.07.07, which was a unique date in history and will never come again"?

You mean, hasn't happened in a hundred years and won't happen again for another century?

Kevin said...

I don't think that 07/07/(20)07 will be back again.

Don't you think so?

Alessia said...

Kevin, Derek is right about 07.07.07.
I mean, who freakin CARES about the (20) part of 2007? And if the big deal is the two zeros, it WILL happen again, and HAS happened before. 07.07.1007, and 07.07.0007 ;)