"Interesting stuff of the Technology, Products and Web 2.0..."

Monday, July 09, 2007

New 7 Wonders of the World .. Scam or Reality ?

After the announcement made during the Official Declaration Ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal on Saturday, July 7, 2007 - 07.07.07 for new seven wonders of the world, now there are many questions coming out... whether this whole contest was a pre planned scam or was it real ?

I came accross few posts and emails saying this whole event as a big pre-planned scandal. The arguments were so strong that it can confuse anyone. It makes me think about this whole stuff.

Few points raised by people are as below:

1. Why would an organization like New Seven Wonders of the World have affiliate sales on their website ?

2. What gives new7wonders the authority of adjudicating on what the seven wonders of the world should be!!

3. The web site www.new7wonders.com is not any official site of historians or people of tourist trade but owned by a private person WEBER, BERNARD official address at P.O.Box 1212, Zurich, Zu 8034 Switzerland.

4. The web site is hosted at for unknown reason at Germany at Lilienstrasse 3 - 5 D-81669 Munich Germany .

5. The site is generating a revenue source for its owner as is evident from the site it self where he writes ” Do telephone calls and SMS generate revenues for New 7 Wonders?

Yes. We have, in partnership with our technical telephone partners, established the world’s first global premium voting platform. A very small portion of the revenue from each call or SMS is goes to New Wonders and will help to fund the entire project.Login to know the truth:http://www.new7wonders.com/index.php?id=604&L=0

6. This was not only a contest but essentially a marketing trick so N7W company people stated thinking that how it can be more famous. So they associated contest with individual country to promote the marketing vote for the contest for the country monuments with great patriotism.

7. Each voting certificate is sold for $2.00 as it says on the site”You get a certificate for your favorite single candidate by clicking onto the Vote Online section and then going to the “vote and buy a certificate” button. Once you have filled out the registration AND paid $2 you will receive an email with their certificate copy. YOU MUST PRINT OUT YOUR OWN CERTIFICATE.”The Mr Weber is making quite a great money this way by fooling the people.

8. This site was originally started on 15-Oct-1999, how does it started the competition on in 2007.

9. http://www.new7wonders.com/index.php?id=351has no backing from UNESCO or noted cultural verification organization, just managed by a Swiss businessman Bernard Weber. He hire former UN expert for this activity

Now i am left with a question "Can this big event be a pre-planned scam ?"

No comments: