"Interesting stuff of the Technology, Products and Web 2.0..."

Thursday, February 14, 2008

New version of Gmail soon available in 37 languages

image Starting from the yesterday night, Gmail team is rolling out the new version of Gmail in 37 languages. The Gmail interface is now supporting following different language:

Arabic, Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Thai, Traditional Chinese, Turkish, UK English, US English, Ukrainian, or Vietnamese.

You can now change your default language from the Settings menu to take advantage of a bunch of features that have recently launched in your preferred language, including:

One side effect of this change is that it may disrupt some third-party Gmail extensions -- unsupported scripts that directly modify Gmail's code. If you don't use them, you don't need to worry about this.

To change the language view in your Gmail account:

  1. Log in to your Gmail account.
  2. Click Settings at the top of any Gmail page.
  3. Select a language from the Gmail display language: drop-down menu in the Language: section.
  4. Click Save Changes.

Your account interface will appear in the language of your choice after you click Save Changes. Remember, your account's display language doesn't affect the language in which your messages are sent and received.

Some of the features available in the English setting may not be available when you select another language setting. Gmail team is working to make all of Gmail's features available in every language setting.

No comments: